Saturday, December 16, 2017

WI, Sri Lanka renew rivalry in 3-way series


West Indies and Sri Lanka will renew their rivalry when they face each other in a limited overs Tri-Nation Series next year, that also involves powerhouses India.

The tournament, which runs from June 28 to July 11, will be hosted in Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago.

West Indies were originally scheduled to host Sri Lanka in two Tests, three One-Day Internationals and two Twenty20 Internationals, but the tour has now been deferred to allow players from both teams to participate in the Indian Premier League.

While the Tests have been put back, the One-dayers will be absorbed in the Tri-Nations Series.

West Indies will open the tournament with a clash with India at Sabina Park on June 28 and two days later face Sri Lanka, who they beat in the final of the World Twenty20 Championship last October.

Three matches in total will be played at Sabina while four matches, including the final, will be staged at Queen's Park Oval.

The final will be contested by the two teams with the most points after the six preliminary round matches.

For the West Indies, the Tri-Nations is part of a busy 2013 schedule which also sees Zimbabwe touring the Caribbean for two Tests, three ODIs and two Twenty20s, and Pakistan arriving for a limited overs series.

In addition to India and Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and Pakistan will also tour the Caribbean in 2013, making it the first time four international teams will visit the region in a calendar year (outside of a world tournament).

West Indies also travel to England for the ICC Champions Trophy from June 6-23.

Full Schedule (All matches – 50 Overs):

Sabina Park:

June 28: West Indies v India

June 30: India v Sri Lanka

July 2: West Indies v Sri Lanka

Queen's Park Oval:

July 5: West Indies v India

July 7: Sri Lanka v India

July 9: West Indies v Sri Lanka

July 11: Final