Friday, January 19, 2018

Walsh spins Leewards to victory


Leeward Islands broke a sequence of three matches without a win against Combined Campuses & Colleges (CCC) in the Regional 4-Day Tournament with a 72-run, come-from-behind victory, yesterday.

Spin bowling all-rounder Hayden Walsh Jr, an attendee of the Sagicor West Indies High Performance Centre (WIHPC) in the last year, grabbed four for 81 from 15 overs to trigger a CCC batting collapse, as they chased 262 for victory on the final day of their first round match at Warner Park in St. Kitts.

Gavin Tonge supported with three for 44 from 13 overs to flatten the top-order and leg-spinner Anthony Martin completed the demolition with a miserly two for 17 from 19 overs, as the Leewards ensured a full house of victories in the opening week of the tournament.

The highlight of the match was the first hundred of the new term from Leewards wicket-keeper/batsman Jahmar Hamilton. 

A graduate of the Sagicor WIHPC, he collected his second first class hundred of 119 in the second innings to bring the home team back into the match and give them the inspiration to fight for a victory that has become quite rare.

It was the Leewards’ first victory over the CCC since they crushed them by 10 wickets four years ago at the Beausejour Cricket Ground in St. Lucia.

Jamaica continued their dominance of Guyana, when they started the tournament with a resounding seven-wicket victory on home soil at Sabina Park.

The Jamaicans defied a seven-wicket performance from West Indies left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul to coast to victory before tea on the final day, on Monday.

It was the home team’s seventh straight victory over the visitors and 12th in 21 matches since 2000--a period during which the Guyanese have only been able to snare one victory, eight years ago at Chedwin Park in the Jamaican district of Innswood.

Windward Islands were the first to the finish line when they completed a confident nine-wicket victory inside three days over reigning champions Barbados, on Sunday, under the lights at Beausejour.

It was their third win in their last seven matches against the Barbadians and was set up by impressive fast bowling from Nelon Pascal and long-standing left-arm medium-fast bowler Kenroy Peters.

Pascal ended with match figures of eight for 103 and Peters grabbed seven for 45 in a contest ending before tea on the third day with Kraigg Brathwaite’s side demolished for 90 in their second innings--the third time in the last four matches between the two sides that Barbados had been dismissed for a total of less than 100.

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB), meanwhile, has advised that the number of day/night matches to be contested in the tournament has been reduced from nine to six.

The third round contest between CCC and Barbados at the Three Ws Oval in Barbados, the sixth round match between Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaica at Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain, and the last round fixture between Leewards and the Barbadians at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua are now scheduled to be day-time games, starting daily at 10 in the morning.





LEEWARDS 1st Innings 164

CCC 1st Innings 202

LEEWARDS 2nd Innings 299


CCC  2nd innings 189 (overnight 110 for four) 

S Thomas c Hodge b Tonge 16        

A Alleyne c Walsh b Tonge 4

K Corbin b Tonge 4

R Reifer c †Thomas b Walsh 22        

C Walton† c †Thomas b Walters 56        

S Jacobs* c & b Walsh 22

K Hodge c Tonge b Walsh 6         

K McClean c & b Martin 3  

A Dewar c †Thomas b Walsh 21        

R Austin not out 11        

K Williams c Joseph b Martin 6         

Extras: (b 12, lb 4, nb 2) 18                                                        

Total: (all out; 61 overs) 189      

Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-24, 3-25, 4-89, 5-113, 6-125, 7-144, 8-157, 9-172, 10-189

Bowling: Tonge 13-3-44-3, Martin 19-10-17-2, Walters 10-4-18-1, Walsh 15-1-81-4, Willett 4-2-13-0


Toss: Leeward Islands, who chose to bat

Points: Leeward Islands 15, Combined Campuses and Colleges 4

Player of the match: JN Hamilton (Leeward Islands)

Umpires: L Abraham and Z Bassarath

Match referee: C James

Reserve umpire: W Mitchum