Wednesday, January 24, 2018

West Indies Cricket Board add more special members


The West Indies Cricket Board, at a special members' meeting recently in Trinidad, expanded the list of special members to include representatives from governments of the West Indies, the Caribbean business community, media, academia and the tourism sector.

The five new special members will join the current two Special Members West Indies Players Association (WIPA) and West Indies Cricket Umpires Association (WICUA).

The governments' representative is to be appointed through CARICOM while the representative from academia will be drawn from tertiary institutions in the region.

WICB President, Dr. Julian Hunte commented: "The WICB views the governments, business community, media, tertiary institutions and the tourism sector as critical stakeholders in West Indies Cricket and this formal inclusion into the structure of the WICB is the Board's commitment to ensuring that each critical stakeholder has a forum to contribute to the development of the game."

"This historic initiative is part and parcel of the WICB's thrust to continue to modernise the governance of the game within the region and it represents another step towards the governance restructuring journey which the WICB has undertaken," Dr Hunte added.

WICB Special Members are entitled to attend and speak on all matters at Annual General Meetings. Special members are non-voting members.

The full members of the WICB are the six Territorial Boards Barbados Cricket Association, Guyana Cricket Board, Jamaica Cricket Association, Leeward Islands Cricket Association, Windward Islands Cricket Board of Control and Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board the president and the vice-president.