Sunday, December 17, 2017

Whim win Tobago schools championship

Defending national champion school Whim Anglican have been crowned the Tobago zonal champions in the boys category of the 2013 Atlantic National Primary Schools Cricket League championship.

The Whim Boys dominated this season, sweeping all before them in Tobago and now they move on to the Inter-school stage, where they will meet the other Zonal champions from Trinidad.

Tobagoís Girls Zonal champions this year are Mason Hall Government who have won the Zonal title for the past four years.

Action in the St George East District got underway Tuesday when Bamboo Settlement Government completely dominated their clash against St Augustine South Government.

Playing at Bamboo Recreation ground, Bamboo Government tallied an impressive 126 for two off 20 overs with Azarion Samuel getting 23, Alexander Kassiram 37 not out and Sayaad Mirza 17 not out. St. Augustine was then dismissed for only 19 runs as Christopher Kalicharan grabbed four wickets for seven runs.

Meanwhile, in the St. Patrickís Division in Trinidad, the zonal finals will took place yesterday when San Francique Presbyterian played Penal Government at Bakal ground in Penal.

In the semis, Penal Government got past Dyanand Memorial, while San Francique Presbyterian got the better of Tulsa Trace by eight wickets.

Playing at Evergreen ground, Tulsa Trace were bowled out for 46, with Calvin Loubon taking five wickets for just three runs.

Lorenzo Loubon then scored 13 not out, as San Francique raced to 48 for two off 6.3 overs to book their place in the finals.

Action also began in the North Eastern District yesterday as schools opted not to participate prior to the SEA examinations.

In the South Eastern District, the action starts tomorrow. As with the other educational districts, schools did not want to participate prior to the SEA examinations and only one match in South Eastern has since been played.

That match took place between St. Maryís Government and New Grant Government, with the former taking a comprehensive 51-run win. Batting first, St. Maryís Government got 107 for five in 15 overs and then restricted New Grant Government to 56 all out in 15 overs.

Summarised scores

St Patrick District

At Evergreen Recreation Ground: Tulsa Trace Hindu 46 all out(Calvin Loubon 5 wickets for 3 runs) vs San

Francique Presbyterian 48/2 in 6.2 overs (Lorenzo

Loubon 13 not out)

San Francique Presbyterian School won by eight


South Eastern District

St Maryís Govít 107/5 (15) vs New Grant Govít 56 all out

St Maryís Govít won by 51 runs.

St George East District

At Bamboo Rec: Bamboo Sett Govít 126/2 (20)(Azarion Samuel 23, Alex Kassiram 37n.o., Sayaad Mirza 17 n.o.) vs St Augustine South Govít 19 all out (Christopher Kalicharan 4/7, Sayaad Mirza 2/3, Andrew Ramberran 2/2)

Bamboo won by 107 runs.