Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Windies A whipped

 The Zaheer Khan-led India A pace attack bowled out West Indies A to register an innings and 54-run win in their last four-day game, levelling the series 1-1.

Although Narsingh Deonarine rallied on with a determined 99-run knock, the rest of the West Indies A batting line-up succumbed to the India A attack.

Khan claimed three more wickets on the last day to finish with four for 59, while Abhishek Nayar picked up two and Bhargav Bhatt took one to bowl the opposition out for 242 in the second innings.

Unbeaten on 36 when play resumed yesterday, Assad Fudadin was the first to return to the pavilion, one run short of his fifty. The middle-order batsman edged Nayar to the keeper to depart. The pacer followed up with the wicket of Jonathan Carter. And 69 runs later, Khan ended Deonarine’s resistance.

Bhatt then removed Nikita Miller, while Khan wrapped up the tail with the wickets of Ashely Nurse and Miguel Cummins. Delorn Johnson was yet to open his account, but with Jahmar Hamilton unavailable to bat, the visitors’ second innings ended, thereby conceding the game to India A.




West Indies A vs India A


West Indies A 1st Innings 268 


India A 1st Innings 564-9 declared


West Indies A 2nd Innings (O/N: 116-3)

K Brathwaite lbw b Pandey 21

K Powell lbw b Khan 6

L Johnson b Kulkarni 1

N Deonarine b Khan 99

A Fudadin c wk Kaul b Nayar 49

J Carter b Nayar 12

N Miller c Dogra b Bhatt 17

A Nurse b Khan 0

D Johnson not out 0

M Cummins b Khan 4

J Hamilton absent hurt -

Extras (b 16, lb 9, w 1, nb 7) 33 TOTAL (all out; 73.5 overs) 242

Wickets at: 17 (Powell), 18 (LR Johnson), 57 (Brathwaite), 139 (Fudadin), 165 (Carter), 234 (Deonarine), 234 (Miller), 234 (Nurse), 242 (Cummins)

BOWLING: Khan 16.3-3-59-4 (3nb); Kulkarni 17-4-38-1 (4nb); Nayer 16-2-45-2 (1w); Pandey 11-3-38-1; Sehwag 9-1-28-0; Bhatt 4-2-9-1


Toss: Won by India A, who chose to field

Result: India A won by an innings and 54 runs

Umpires: S Asnani and R Deshpande

Match referee: B Raghunath