Thursday, January 18, 2018

Windwards name unchanged squad for Caribbean T/20


Windward Islands selectors have announced a strong 14-man squad to compete in the Caribbean Twenty/20 tournament, to be played in Trinidad and St. Lucia in January.

The squad is unchanged from the one which participated in the 2012 tournament, in Antigua and Barbados.

The team, led by West Indies skipper Darren Sammy, boasts of a number of players with international experience.

They include former West Indies opening batsmen Devon Smith, Johnson Charles and Andre Fletcher.

Fletcher added a century to his name during his recent tour of Bangladesh with the WICB High Performance Centre (HPC).

Charles scored a career-best 84 to earn Windies a 15-run win over England during the ICC World Twenty/20 tournament in Sri Lanka.

Also included in the Windwards squad is West Indies spinner Shane Shillingford, who has been performing impressively and who earlier this year became the first Dominican to take a wicket in a home Test match--West Indies vs Australia.

Miles Bascombe, Keddy Lesporis, Tade Caremichael, Nelon Pascal, Delorn Johnson, Kenroy Peters, Gary Mathurin, Liam Sebastein and Lindon James are the other members of the Windwards squad.

The players were chosen from a 20-member provisional squad, selected after the National Lotteries Authority WINLOTT T20 tournament in St Lucia, earlier this year.

The WICB T/20 tournament will revert to a round robin format, with the top four teams advancing to the playoffs.

Trinidad and Tobago are the defending champions.