Sunday, January 21, 2018

Youth teams start preparations

The Trinidad and Tobago Under-17 and Under-19 teams will start preparations for the respective regional youth competitions next week after both training squads were announced yesterday.

According to chairman of youth selection Lalman Kowlessar, the Under-17 team will be led by Varendra Jagroop for the West Indies Cricket Board Regional Under-17 tournament which will be held in Tobago from June 29 to July 8.

The coach and manager for the Under-17 team is still being finalised.

He said the Under-19 skipper for the regional tournament, which will be staged from July 10 to August 10 in the Leeward Islands, has not been named as yet, but the leading candidates will be last year’s skipper Vikash Mohan, left-arm spinner Jovan Ali and opening batsman Jeremy Solozano who were all part of last year’s team.

Kelvin Williams will coach the Under-19 team with Roland Sampath being the manager.

The players and their parents will attend an orientation session on May 27 at the National Cricket Centre, Balmain, Couva at 5 p.m.

The Under-17s will meet assemble at the Alloy Lequay Administrative Centre while the Under-19s will have their session at the Sir Frank Worrell Development Centre.


Under-17—Damian Browne, Amir Jangoo, Jordan Warner, Jyd Goolie, Clevon Kelawan, Anderson Phillip, Jalani Searles, Shatrughan Rambaran, Carl Vialva, Emilio Gopaul, Brandon Jaggernath, Varendra Jagroop, Dejourn Charles, Bryan Boodram, Kerron Simmons, Amrish Rampersad, Shaquille McDavid.

Under-19— Jeremy Solozano, Andy Gobin, Vikash Mohan, Brian Pegus, Brian Christmas, Tion Webster, Jovan Ali, Jordan Samkaran, Jesse Bootan, Camillo Carimbocas, Justin Joseph, Al Small, Bryan Boodram, Nicholas Pooran, Shaquille Duncan, Shane Smith, Gabriel Blackwell, Joshua Ramdoo, Bryan Charles.

Kelvin Williams (coach), Roland Sampath (manager)